My Favorite Bromances

Geez…I’m a slacker! Sorry for the lack of posts recently! So this is an idea I’ve been kicking around for quite a while and I thought I’d be a nice little departure from the music.

Yes, I am a strange person. I say this for a multitude of reasons, but this is particularly relevant right now because I am about to unveil my love for Bromances. I couldn’t really tell you why I am so, endlessly amused by bromances, but for some reason I am. Please tell me I’m not the only one. A bromance is basically a really, really close friendship between two guys. You could describe them kind of as plutonic soul mates, if you will.

Hollywood, in fictional movies/tv shows and in real life, has given us plenty of Bromances to say “Oh how cute!” about. Brad Pitt and George Clooney; Jason Segel and Paul Rudd in “I Love You, Man;”  Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law; Riggs and Murtaugh; even Hans Solo and Chewy! Those are all great examples, but here are my favorites:

Matt Damon and Ben Affleck

My first bromantic love! I think these two are awesome. Not only are they Cambridge boys who still love to come back home, they have also been friends since they were kids. I remember reading not long ago, that their families even go on vacation together. CUTE. Also, they are both wicked talented. Major points on the bromance scale. Haha. 🙂

House and Wilson (House)

So, these guys may be fictional, but they are a perfect example of a bromance. I haven’t been keeping up with House like I used to, but my favorite scenes were always those between House and Wilson. They know each other better than anyone else and they aren’t afraid to call each other out when need be. A lot of times it seems like they don’t even like each other! It’s just tough love, friends. The last episode I saw this season featured Wilson climbing through a window (and getting stuck)  to check on House…and I really don’t think that was the first time it had happened.

Joshua Radin and Zach Braff

I am pretty sure that Joshua Radin and Zach Braff went to college together, and were maybe even roommates at one point (?). Zach put’s Joshua’s music in his TV shows and movies, and Joshua does cameos in those movies. It’s great. Also, they are really funny together. Please see the tweet below. Haha!

I love that they are Twitter friends now. We get to see awesome videos like this. They were just hanging out one night. Joshua pulled out his guitar, and Zach pulled out his camera. THIS is what resulted. Beautiful.

Joey and Chandler

Friends is one of those shows that I would catch on TV, but have never watched straight through. But, it doesn’t matter if you have watched one episode or all of them, it’s impossible to miss this bromance. Chandler is constantly taking care of Joey, and Joey declares that it is the “end of an era!” when Chandler decides to move out. Then when Monica and Chandler try to find a house together Chandler envisions a place with an apartment over the garage for Joey to live in. Heehee.

Colin Firth and Geoffery Rush

I base this claim wholly on the GIF below. I really need no further evidence to back it up. That is all.

Wayne & Garth (Wayne’s World)

How could I not add Wayne and Garth into the mix? The span from TV to movies, and they are hysterical! They can banter back and forth in their own 90s Dude language and it’s fantastic. I love them.

BONUS Three Way Bromances!

Ted, Marshall, and Barney (How I Met Your Mother)

I think this was a bromance that started just between Ted and Marshall bonding in the Fiero listening to ‘I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)’ , but they, somewhat reluctantly, adopted Barney into their Bromance. The dude, got hit by a bus trying to reach Ted when he was supposedly hurt, I think he proved himself.

The Lone Gunmen (The X-Files)

My favorite trio of paranoid conspiracy theorist! These three guys stick together in life and death. ( 😦 ) Each is totally different: Byers always buttoned up in suit and tie, Langly with his scraggly blond hair, and Frohike…Frohike is just awesome, but they always have each others’ backs. I think they also shared a serious man crush on Mulder. Heehee.

So, if you didn’t think I was crazy before, I bet you do now, huh!? What do you think? Did I miss any key bromances?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Siobhan
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 09:35:54

    Ted and Marshall bonding in the Fiero listening to ‘I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)’. My favorite episode ever!!!!

    Reply

  2. Janet (ProfeJMarie)
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 16:18:26

    I don’t think you are weird at all for loving the bromances. I think for me I find it reassuring that men have close relationships – that they have someone who will get their backs. Women are toted to be so fiercely loyal to their own – perhaps it’s the maternal gene, or maybe it’s just in our make-up, I don’t know, but it is nice to know that men can have their own need of support, as well. There are things that only another woman can understand – this is no different for men. My husband has a true bromance with one of his brothers and I absolutely love it – I love that he has someone else who gets him and someone who can listen to him complain about me.

    Of the ones you listed above – I adore Joey and Chandler and love the example you give about finding a Joey room in Monica and Chandler’s new home (and how Monica doesn’t bat an eye to it! Yay Monica!) and the Lone Gunmen are awesome, too.

    I rather like hearing that Affleck’s and Damon’s families get together, too. Maybe we could add Hart Hanson and Stephen Nathan for a good bromance, too. 😉

    Reply

  3. Lorri
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 03:07:45

    You gotta love those Lone Gunmen!

    Reply

  4. Marc Elusive
    May 04, 2011 @ 09:14:51

    Nice, giving the Lone Gunman a shout out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

