Song of the Moment: ‘Comfort’

If you are reading this, you are undoubtedly aware of my current Dawson’s Creek endeavor. Don’t worry- it’s only temporary. I am almost finished with the series. Haha. Well, as I was excitedly watching Pacey and Joey’s first real kiss (I’m not counting that Season 1 debacle), I had just enough clarity of mind left to vaguely hear a familiar voice singing in the background. Upon a second viewing, and if we are being perfectly honest here…maybe a third, I confirmed that Deb Talan’s song ‘Comfort’ was playing during the Pacey/Joey kiss that I had been waiting 3 seasons to see. And it was perfect…in this episode at least.

Be still my shipper heart.

 

Just for the record, I know I am about 10 years behind the rest of the world, and I act like I’m 12. Ok, now that that is cleared up, moving on…

I love it when I rediscover songs that I already own and fall in love with them all over again. I have so much music, that it actually happens quite often. That is what happened with me and ‘Comfort’. I’ve always really love The Weepies despite only having a few of their songs, ‘World Spins Madly On’ being on my top played list in iTunes. The Weepies is Deb’s current band which is basically made up of her and her husband.

How adorable are they?!

To make it even better, they met because they were both playing gigs in Cambridge. Yeah, Boston!

It wasn’t until early in the fall of 2010 that I saw The Weepies live (fantastic show, by the way), and consequentially discovered Deb’s solo stuff. My concert buddy insisted that I listen to the music Deb came out with prior to The Weepies, and I’m glad I did. As Concert Buddy pointed out, Deb’s solo music was all about searching for love and trying to find the right guy, while songs by The Weepies are very often about having found that love. Say it with me, “Awwwww!” I think the progression of that is wonderful to listen to. Not to mention the fact that  it gives this hopeless romantic some faith in the real world. 🙂

So, have a listen to my favorite of Deb Talan’s solo album, A Bird Flies Out; the song that Dawson’s Creek so kindly reintroduced me to: ‘Comfort’

“So cry, why not? We all do. And turn to one you love and a smile a smile that lights up all the room.”

Special thanks to @MaliBearsBuddy for editing that first picture!! 🙂 Thanks for reading!!

TTFN

-T

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda and Gary
    Mar 27, 2011 @ 06:47:27

    Nice writing, and really enjoyed the tunes- Miss You Gmom

    Reply

  2. Lindsey
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 10:36:41

    I am in the middle of exactly what you are doing! My sister-in-law was a huge fan of Dawson’s Creek when it came out and has been trying to get me to watch it. I am just getting to the end of season four and I know what you mean about felling like you are 12! It has been a blast! My iPad sits next to me to download any great songs I hear while watching the show! I hope you have fun watching the rest of the show!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

