Song of the Moment: Christmas Song

Yeah, I celebrate Christmas and love the holiday season, but I am not an especially religious person. I’m still figuring out my ‘spiritual path’ if you will. Don’t worry though, I’m not going to go all deep and emotional on you. I just mention it because it’s the reason why I find it almost interesting that my favorite song of the season isn’t about Santa, elves, or snow. It’s straight up about the life of Jesus.

‘Christmas Song’ by Dave Matthews is my all time favorite holiday tune; I love it so much that I listen to it all year round. As Dave says in one of this song’s live recordings, “This is a nondenominational tune here. But it may seem otherwise, but take it as you will. It’s just a song I wrote about an amazing man who got screwed. Not an uncommon story.” I don’t get uncomfortable listening to this like I sometimes do, listening to songs with religious themes. It’s just an honest, down to earth, no nonsense kind of song and I appreciate that.

I really, really love it, and I think it’s a song that is pretty approachable to all types. There’s a simplicity about it I really admire. Many Christmas songs have A LOT going on in them. Jingle bells, children singing in the background, etc, etc. Not this one though. This song is a very simple guitar piece and Dave singing. That’s usually it. Depending on the recording, he may have some back up assistance from the band or Tim Reylonds, but it’s minimal.

Dave Matthews proves himself a master story teller with is simple, yet poignant lyrics. He tells the story of Jesus’s life in such a way that it doesn’t feel like he is preaching. I don’t feel like I’m in church, I just feel like Dave and I are having a conversation almost.  My favorite lines in the song are “Gamblers and robbers; drinkers and jokers- all soul searchers, like you and me. Like you and me… searching for love, love, love. Love, love, love. Love, love is all around.” I think it’s the message of love that makes this song my favorite. People are people. We all want the same thing. We all just want love.

Here’s Dave Matthews and Tim Reynolds performing ‘Christmas Song’ in Las Vegas in December ’09.

If your interested in buying this song for yourself, my favorite version is on the ‘Live at Luther College’ album. 🙂

Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

