Song of the Moment: A Harmonic Celebration of Wintery Songs (Concert Edition)

Number of times I have cried during concerts? Two. That is, if you count getting teary-eyed as crying. The first time it happened, I was watching Coldplay’s lead singer, Chris Martin, sing “The Scientist”–acoustic–out in the crowd. The second time was when Joshua Radin played “Brand New Day,” a song with a lot of sentimental meaning for me. There aren’t many times I actually get teary during a concert.

Well, that changed on Sunday night thanks to a folksy troupe of local ladies performing at Club Passim in Cambridge. Maybe it was that I have been really over tired the past couple of weeks, or maybe it was just the holiday spirit of it all. Whatever it was, their performance nearly moved me to tears at least twice.

I wasn’t even planning on blogging about this show going in. I was thinking that it wasn’t really a concert. More like some live music at a restaurant. Well, that taught me to go in judging. It was just a tiny resteraunt bustling with energy in anticipation of the performance, but it exceeded any and all expectations I had.

The show was entitled, “A Harmonic Celebration of Wintery Songs” featuring Jennifer Kimball, Margaret Glaspy, Aoife O’Donovan, Rose Polenzani, and Catie Curtis. I had never heard of any of these women before except for Catie Curtis, and that was only hours before. The show consisted of these lovely ladies putting their own spin on some holiday favorites with acoustic guitars and 5 part harmonies. They sang ‘Silent Night’ acapella, and before long the entire room joined in singing. It was simply beautiful. I also really moved their covers of ‘White Winter Hymnal’ by Fleet Foxes and ‘Winter Winds’ by Mumford & Sons.

I walked out of that resteraunt having a new favorite versions of nearly every Christmas song they played. After the show I told the friend I was with that my Christmas wish to have a cd of that exact concert. Well, guess what? It was being recorded! Thanks, Santa! Here’s hoping they release it out to the populous!

To give you a taste, here is one song they sang. Catie Curtis and Jennifer Kimball’s  rendition of “Lo, How a Rose E’er Blooming,” which was also featured on an episode of Grey’s Anatomy.

As always, thanks for reading!

Also, special thanks to Caitlin (@cheshirecat512) for going all grammar nerd for me. 🙂

-T

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Siobhan
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 15:44:40

    Great post, Tory! COLDPLAY!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

