Song of the Moment: Freelance Whales (Concert Edition)

A week ago tonight, I went to see the band Freelance Whales at the Middle East Downstairs in Cambridge.

They were even cuter in real life. Hard to believe, huh?

You may have seen that I had a bit of a crisis that night. I found out earlier in the afternoon that they weren’t going on until 11:30pm, which is pretty late on a work night and …. it was the a BIG Bones night. I toyed with the idea of not going, but in the end I obviously decided to go, and I couldn’t be happier with that decision.

I have to admit, I don’t think I had ever heard of this band before I was invited to the concert, but I rarely turn down the chance to see a live show. Luckily, it turns out Freelance Whales are pretty awesome and after listening to their album, Weathervanes, a few times I just couldn’t wait to see them perform.

Before the concert I listened to their music nonstop. I like to try and know my stuff when I go see a band live. After listening for a couple of days, I knew that they reminded me of something but I couldn’t quite figure it. Finally, it came to me. Freelance Whales are kind of like a mix between Sufjan Stevens and The Postal Service. For the record, I thought of that all by myself before I checked the wikipedia page…which would have been the smart thing to do in the first place. Haha. I also almost think what Freelance Whales has is what Owl City has been striving for. Their musical arrangements are interesting, multilayered, and unique. It’s fun stuff to listen to, but it also lingers with you for awhile. I found myself actually thinking about this music long after I turned it off.

The band played every song that included vocals off their album. Weathervanes may be their only album to date, but it’s a great one. It even came in at #29 on Paste Magazine’s Top 50 Albums of 2010 (The entire list is great, by the way). It ranked better than Girl Talk’s ‘All Day’ and She & Him’s ‘Volume Two.’ Whoa (Horse)! It is easy for me to hear why.

My last concert recap was over the top, like the band I went to see, but this was more of a traditional ‘Tory concert’. It was in a small venue and featured nothing but the musicians and their instruments. (Well, that’s a tiny lie…there was a bubble maker roaming the crowd at one point. 🙂 ) It was also the type of show where you could enjoy the company you were with. It was an all around fun time hanging out with some great friends and listening to some awesome music. This was a much better representation of my usual concert going experience. Low on the theatrics, but still amazing performances.

I leave you with this. A great performance of one of my favorite songs on the album, Generator ^ Second Floor.

As always, thank you for reading. 🙂

TTFN

-T

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. iamloislane
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 02:46:56

    I love that last song. Like a lot. I also really enjoy these music review/concert experience posts. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

