Song of the Moment: ‘Steady Shock’

In celebration of the new Girl Talk album coming out, my Song of the Moment is called ‘Steady Shock’ off of All Day.

Never heard of Girl Talk? Let me enlighten you. Girl Talk is just some skinny white guy that takes songs from every genre imaginable (rap, R&B, classic rock, pop, etc.) and smooshes them all together into one EPIC mashup.

Gregg Michael Gillis AKA Girl Talk 'performing' at a concert.

Girl Talk is absolutely a departure from my usual taste in music. While there are definitely some exceptions, I don’t usually listen to rap or R&B. Also, I normally tend to steer clear of music with extensive profanity; I’m just not a swearer. However, when I turn on Girl Talk I just can’t seem to turn it off. It totally cheers me up. So, if you are feeling apprehensive about listening, just give it a chance. I don’t expect everyone to like it, because I know that not everyone will, but I think it is worth a shot. I never in a million years thought I would be jamming out to this, but here I am. 🙂

This new album blows my mind. He mixes rap, R&B, and pop with the likes of Simon and Garfunkel, Electric Light Orchestra, Blue Oyster Cult, and…wait for it…BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN. This is why ‘Steady Shock’ wins the title of Song of the Moment. Pretty much anything that involves The Boss is an A+ in my book. My love for the Bruce is deeply embedded, and I am sure he will make a debut on Song of the Moment, but right now, it’s Girl Talk I can’t turn off.

‘Steady Shock,’ and the rest of the songs on the album, are really meant to be listened to all as one, not as separate tracks. But ‘Steady Shock’ has The Boss! (Did I mention that yet? Haha). I love how Gillis manages to weave seamlessly between musical genres making it seem like they were meant to be mashed together. It really amazes me. So, without any further ado, have a listen to the crazy entertainment that is ‘Steady Shock by Girl Talk.

Want the new album all for yourself? Download for free here straight from the record label: http://illegal-art.net/allday/

TTFN

-T

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Caitlin
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 19:47:31

    Played some of the songs in the car the other day. One of my friends fell in love with them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

